Late Summer Bell Pepper Gazpacho with Mint

DSCF7917

Today, a late summer gazpacho, inspired by Mexican flavors, ideal for those last hot summer days of August. Those days are harder to endure when you’re already back to work, with the burning cobblestones and offices without air conditioning. In Biscarrosse, near the beach, this end-of summer feel was definitely in the air with the last batch of vacationers leaving on Saturday, with a heavy heart and a truck full. Keys are given back to the owners, the kids are seated in the back of the car and it’s the big departure ! Weekends in September are still full with tourists but the atmosphere is totally different, more like Indian summer.

Back to school days are just ahead of us with this slight nostalgia for long lazy days and this hint of sadness when you already think of your next holiday. I’ve always felt a little depressed knowing that I will have to wait 9 more month until the beginning of summer and its sunny perspective. But soon, I will be taken way by the whirlwind of back to school days and the newness there is to it. In a few days, kids will be passing by my windows for their first day, with their new outfit and worried look before crossing the school gates. All in all, the routine will soon get its way and summer days won’t feel as painful as they feel now.

To make it last a little longer and ease the pain of it, make this gaspacho this week, preferably the day before so you can enjoy it directly when you come home from work. If you’re lucky enough to be on holidays, you’re also allowed to make it to enjoy for a long evening by the pool or in the garden :)

DSCF7916

DSCF7922
DSCF7920

DSCF7929

Bell Pepper Gazpacho with Mint

Serves 4

Ingrédients

1 yellow onion, minced
4 red bell peppers, seeded and diced
3 tbsp of olive oil
1 tsp of sugar
1 garlic clove, minced
Zest of 1/2 lemon
1 tsp of Espelette pepper or other mild pepper powder
500ml of vegetable stock
Mint leaves
Salt and pepper

Instructions

1. In a saucepan, sauteed the onion with 1 tbsp of olive oil. Add the garlic and 2/3 of the bell peppers. Cook for 5 minutes then add the pepper powder, sugar, salt and pepper to taste.
2. Add the vegetable stock and bring to boil. Then reduce the heat and let simmer for 15 minutes. Mix the soup until smooth and let it cool first on the counter then in the fridge.
3. When the soup is cold, add the lemon zest and the rest of the bell peppers. Drizzle with the rest of the olive oil and serve !

3

4 thoughts on “Late Summer Bell Pepper Gazpacho with Mint

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Gazpacho de fin d’été aux poivrons rouges et menthe

DSCF7917
Aujourd’hui une soupe de fin d’été, d’inspiration mexicaine, idéale pour les dernières journées chaudes du mois d’Août. Journée de canicules qui sont d’autant plus difficiles à supporter pour ceux qui ont repris le chemin du travail, les pavés qui brulent et les bureaux plus ou moins climatisés. Au bord de la mer, l’atmosphère de fin des vacances était bien là ce week-end, avec les vacanciers qui quittaient la station samedi matin le coeur lourd et le coffre chargé. On rend les clés des maisons, on charge les enfants à l’arrière et c’est parti pour le grand retour ! Les week-ends de septembre, même si toujours propices au tourisme ont néanmoins une atmosphère bien différente, d’été indien.
La rentrée est déjà arrivée, avec cette petite pointe de nostalgie pour ces longues journées de farniente et ce léger abattement à penser déjà aux prochaines vacances. Personnellement cela m’a toujours un peu déprimée de réaliser qu’il fallait attendre encore 9 mois avant de retrouver le début de l’été et sa perspective ensoleillée. Mais dans quelques jours, nous allons être emportés par le tourbillon de la rentrée et le vent de nouveauté qu’il amène. Bientôt, les enfants vont passer en grappe devant ma fenêtre pour leur première journée d’école, la nouvelle tenue fraichement achetée et leur petit regard inquiet avant de franchir la porte. Et puis, le rythme va de nouveau s’installer et on sera vite replongé dans notre quotidien.

Pour faire durer un peu cette fin d’été et vous consoler de la rentrée, je vous propose de réaliser cette petite soupe froide hyper facile cette semaine, la veille pour le lendemain, parfait pour servir en entrée direct après le boulot. Si vous avez la chance d’être encore en vacances, vous pouvez aussi tenter cette recette pour vos apéros qui se prolongent toute la soirée au bord de la piscine ou dans le jardin :)

DSCF7916

DSCF7922
DSCF7920

DSCF7929

Gazpacho aux poivrons rouges et menthe

Pour 4 personnes

Ingrédients

1 onion jaune, émincé
4 poivrons rouges, epépinés et découpés en dés
3 cs d’huile d’olive
1 cs de sucre
1 gousse d’ail, émincée
Zeste d’1/2 citron
1 cc de piment d’Espelette
500ml de bouillon de légumes
Quelques brins de menthe
Sel et poivre

Instructions

1. Faites revenir l’oignon dans 1 cs d’huile d’olive, ajouter l’ail, et 2/3 des poivrons. Faites dorer 5 minutes. Ajoutez le piment, le sucre, sel et poivre.
2. Ajoutez le bouillon et amenez à l’ébullition. Laissez mijoter 15 minutes. Mixez et laissez refroidir
3. Quand la soupe est froide, ajoutez le zeste de citron et le reste des poivrons. Arrosez avec les 2 cs d’huile d’olive restantes

3

4 réflexions au sujet de « Gazpacho de fin d’été aux poivrons rouges et menthe »

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>