Lisboa : a plum torte

DSCF8133

It’a about time that I share the second part of our Portuguese trip : Lisbon. It’s a very popular destination right now (at least in France) and I easily understand why as the city is very charming !

We booked an airbnb in the Alfama neighbourhood, the historic district of Lisbon with winding paved streets, Becos, that climb up to the top of the hill to the Castelo San Jorge. Our little studio, on the first floor, had a view on one side on a narrow street with an adorable grandma who was sewing all day outside while listening to Fado; and on the other side opened up towards the Tage. So quaint and picturesque. We couldn’t have dreamt of a better spot to unwind after a long day exploring the city.

Lisbon is one of those cities that charms you right away : the beautiful facades covered with azulejos, the laundry drying while hanging at the windows, narrow paved streets going straight up, bars and restaurants hidden in small pathways that overflow in the streets, the miradouros that offer a spectacular view on the city after a hike in dark streets, the bougainvillea taking over the buildings, the tramway weaving through the old streets at top speed.

The light there is golden, filled with summer heat and barely touching the colorful buildings . Often, we look for the shades, to hide; and for an escape to the maze of streets. Cafes with a daily menu written on a wrinkled paper napkin are always a good idea. We eat fresh grilled fish for the price of glass of wine in Paris. In the evening, we take shelter in rooftops to contemplate the declining light on the city.

Also, we stop at old-fashioned shops, a little dark, with wooden counters, that sell wonders from a different era. We wander through the streets, along the Tage, in quiet garden, everywhere in the city. The view on the river is always a refreshing one, to breathe a little and take a break from the buildings that stand on the hill’s side.

In this wonderful city, we eat simple things, a little rustic but always fresh and delicious. To illustrate this trip with a recipe, I wanted to share this mythic Plum Torte that is a perfect outlet for ripe and juicy fruits. The best option is to choose small, purple plum, very juicy !

DSCF7579DSCF7583

DSCF7578
DSCF7547
DSCF7701

DSCF8112DSCF7555

DSCF7588

DSCF8116

DSCF7618

DSCF7590
DSCF7679
DSCF7653DSCF7690

DSCF7640

DSCF7644

DSCF7714DSCF7732
DSCF7544

DSCF7537DSCF8139

DSCF7511

DSCF8136

Plum Torte
Recipe by Marian Burros for The NYT

Ingredients

125g (1 cup) of flour
1 tbsp of baking powder
1 pinch of salt
150g (3/4 cup) of sugar + 1 tbsp
120g of butter
2 eggs
1 tbsp of lemon juice
12 purple prunes, cut in half

1. Preheat your oven at 180°. Mix the flour, salt and baking powder. In a large bowl, beat the butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at the time.
2. Then, mix in the flour mix. Pour into a 9 inch springform pan.
3. Place the halved prunes, face down. Sprinkle with sugar and lemon juice.
4. Bake for 45-50 minutes.

1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Lisbonne : Torte aux prunes

DSCF8133

Je vous retrouve pour la seconde partie de notre voyage au Portugal : Lisbonne. C’est une destination très à la mode en ce moment, ce que je comprends aisément tant la ville est charmeuse.

Nous logions dans le quartier de l’Alfama, quartier historique de la ville avec des petites rues pavées, les Beco, qui serpentent et grimpent le long de la colline en haut de laquelle est juché le Castello San Jorge. Notre minuscule studio, à l’entresol, donnait d’un côté sur une rue étroite; avec en face une mamie qui faisait de la couture sur le pas de sa porte, en écoutant de la musique populaire; de l’autre côté nos fenêtres ouvraient sur une vue dégagée et au loin, le Tage. Nous n’aurions pas pu trouver plus pittoresque ! Mais ce fut le meilleur camp de base que nous aurions pu espérer, idéalement situé pour recharger les batteries après avoir arpenté la ville.

Lisbonne est une de ses villes qui vous charment tout de suite, dès les premiers pas : les façades couvertes d’azulejos, le linge qui sèche aux fenêtres, les rues pavées qui remontent à pic, les bars et restaurants cachés sous des escaliers qui débordent dans la rue, les miradouros qui offrent une vue sur la ville au détour d’une rue sombre, les bougainvilliers qui envahissent les immeubles, le tram lancé à toute berzingue dans les vieilles rues étroites.

La lumière y est dorée, remplie de la chaleur d’été et vient caresser les immeubles aux façades colorées, décorées. Souvent on cherche l’ombre et l’échappatoire au dédale des rues. Les cafés au menu du jour griffonné sur une nappe en papier sont toujours des étapes bienvenues. On y mange du poisson grillé pour à peine le prix d’un verre à Paris. Le soir, on se laisse tenter par un toit terrasse pour contempler la lumière décliner sur la ville.

Et puis, on s’arrête aussi dans les échoppes désuètes, un peu sombres, aux comptoirs en bois, qui vendent des merveilles venues d’un autre temps. On flâne doucement dans les rues, au bord du Tage, et dans de paisibles jardins, partout dans la ville. La vue du fleuve est toujours là pour offrir une respiration, un horizon face aux immeubles qui se dressent à flanc de colline.

Dans cette ville merveilleuse, on dine de choses simples, un peu rustiques mais toujours délicieuses. Alors pour illustrer ce voyage, j’avais envie de partager cette recette mythique de « Torte » aux prunes qui est en fait, un gateau léger et moelleux qui accueille bien les fruits mûrs de la fin de l’été. Le mieux, c’est de choisir des petites prunes violettes, bien juteuses !

DSCF7579DSCF7583

DSCF7578
DSCF7547
DSCF7701

DSCF8112DSCF7555

DSCF7588

DSCF8116

DSCF7618

DSCF7590
DSCF7679
DSCF7653DSCF7690

DSCF7640

DSCF7644

DSCF7714DSCF7732
DSCF7544

DSCF7537DSCF8139

DSCF7511

DSCF8136

Torte aux Prunes
Recette par Marian Burros pour le NYT

Ingrédients

125g de farine
1 sachet de levure chimique
1 pincée de sel
150g de sucre + 1 cs pour saupoudrer
120g de beurre
2 oeufs
10ml de jus de citron
12 prunes violettes, dénoyautées et coupées en deux

1. Préchauffer le four à 180°. Mélanger la farine, le sel, la levure. Dans un grand bol, battre le beurre mou avec le sucre jusqu’à ce que le mélange blanchisse. Ajouter les oeufs, un à un.
2. Puis, incorporer le mélange de farine. Verser dans un moule à manquer beurré
3. Placer les demi prunes, face coupée en bas. Arroser de jus de citron et saupoudrer de sucre.
4. Faire cuire le gâteau pendant 45-50 minutes.

1

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>