Sagres and the Vicentina Coast : Ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger

DSCF8065

First part of our trip to Portugal with the Algarve region. This region in the southern part of Portugal is renowned for its beautiful beaches but is also a destination of choice for tourists during the summer months. When we were researching where to stay during this trip, we got a lukewarm reception from our friends and family. They said that Algarve had the reputation to being very crowded and filled with seaside towns with high-rises and multilingual menus in restaurants. So that was very far from the small village atmosphere we were looking for. We kept looking and quickly crossed of our list some towns but in the middle of it we found Sagres at the western point of Algarve. The guidebooks were describing it as a surfer’s town with an end-of-the-world feel. We were sold !

When we got there, it totally lived up to our expectations. The town in itself is very charming, quite small with a port, a market to get fresh produce and fish, some traditional cafes where the local grandpas are meeting. But there are also some cool surfer bars and restaurant that serve grilled meat and fish on the beach. We even found some places with good design without being show-off.

It was the perfect base camp to explore the region which offers magnificent landscapes within 20 km. In the south, we found beaches surrounded by ocher cliffs, covered with perennial plants, calm and clear water and frequented by families.

In the west, never-ending beaches with black cliffs or sand dunes (like in the Landes region where I’m from) with unrelenting waves perfect for surfing (which we did ! you may not know but I surfed a lot when I was a teenager and I got back to it 2 years ago). On all the beaches, there are small cafes and snack where you can have lunch or just a drink, the atmosphere is very laid back as this coast is mostly frequented by surfers and families going camping in the nature.

Also, a day when the coast was windy with misty rain, we went farther inland to find small villages with white houses built around an old church, a greener nature, and meandering roads. We explored Monchique, a mountain town that is a starting point of hikes in the Serra do Monchique. We chose to hike in Mt Picota, through a forest of eucalyptus, cork oaks, strawberry trees. Up there, the view on the region is breathtaking.

Well, it is quite obvious how much I liked this region, its wild nature and the variety of its landscapes. We took it day by day, doing what we were in the mood for, exploring different beaches according to the direction of the wind of the swell, going swimming in sheltered beaches like you do in the Mediterranean, reading in the shades, having lunch with a view on the sea.

I loved wandering the streets of Sagres, going to the market with the locals stocking up on vegetables and fresh fish for the barbecue, taking l’apéritif in our deck at sunset, getting wild in the bars in town after dinner. This town definitely feels like the windswept end-of-world, slightly old-fashioned with a California vibe.

One of the dinners we made was this ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger. It’s really fresh and bright, perfect to end a sunny day spent at the beach. You can make it after the beach, with your pareo wrapped around your waist, you feed covered in sand and you hair still salty. I serve it with basmati rice but you can also eat it as an appetizer.

Praia do Beliche
DSCF7733

Sagrès
DSCF7789

DSCF7741DSCF7779

Praia do Cordoama
DSCF7752

Sagrès
DSCF7793DSCF7805
Monchique
DSCF7808

DSCF8058

DSCF7816
DSCF8049DSCF8051

DSCF7825
DSCF8059
DSCF7828DSCF7818

DSCF7844
Mt Picota
DSCF7850

DSCF8064

Praia da Mareta
DSCF7791---copie

DSCF7804DSCF7788

DSCF8067
Praia do Castelejo
DSCF7763

Ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger

Serves 4

Ingredients
600g (21oz) of whte fish filet like seabass, sea bream or cod
2 avocados, sliced
1/2 cucumber, seeded and diced
1 small onion (white or red), minced
1 bunch of cilantro
2 tbsp of olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
Juice and zest of 1 lime
4 cm (1.5 inch) piece of ginger, grated
2 pinches of Espelette pepper (or some mild pepper powder)
Salt

Instructions
1. Prepare the marinade : mix the oil, juice of the lemon and lime, lime zest, grated ginger, pepper and onion.
2. Dice the fish filets and add it to the marinade. Mix well. Put the marinade in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
3. A few minutes before serving, add the cilantro, cucumber, avocado slices. Salt to taste.
4. Serve with rice for a full meal

1

Chilled Zucchini Soup with Feta and Dill

SoupeCourgettes-02

I’ve been home from holidays since Sunday. I visited Portugal and came back tanned, rested and truly amazed by this country. I don’t actually realise that we’ve been gone for 10 days, it went by so fast and at the same time it was so dense and rich that I feel I’ve been away for a longer time. I’m already editing and selecting the photos for two posts to come (one on Lisbon and the other on the Algarve region) with recipe that have inspired me while I was there.

Today, I’m sharing a recipe that fits in the category “easy, quick and to do today”, it’s totally in season and really convenient ! Zucchinis are overflowing our markets in France and it’s probably one of my favorite summer vegetable (even if I’m guilty of consuming it all year). I think it’s a very versatile vegetable, I use it raw in salads, roasted with a fish, sauteed in an omelet, grated in a gratin. You got it, I can’t stop using it :) . However it was new to me to have it as a chilled soup, I think it is really worth sharing as it offers a good alternative to the traditional summer gazpacho.

I strangely have a similar problem with feta cheese, I always have some in my fridge and when I’m think about new recipe it always finds a way to pop up in my head. In my defense, it really adds a new layer of flavor here as it counterbalances the “green” flavor of the zucchini and gives a salty and creamy note to the dish.

As a finishing note, I added dill, which I love, to vary from mint or basil, our summer staples.

I will come back next week to share my Portuguese adventures :)

SoupeCourgettes-05
SoupeCourgettes-07SoupeCourgettes-03

SoupeCourgettes-06

SoupeCourgettes-09

SoupeCourgettes-01

SoupeCourgettes-10

Chilled zucchini soup with feta and dill
Serves 2

Ingredients

2 medium size zucchini (300g), diced
1 onion, minced
1 1/4 cup (30cl) of vegetable stock
1.8 oz (50g) of feta, crumbled
2 tbsp of olive oil
1/2 bunch of dill
Salt & Pepper

Instructions

1. In a saucepan, cook the onion until translucent with 1 tbsp of olive oil, then add the zucchini. Let it cook for 5 minutes.
2. Add the stock, and let the soup simmer for 15 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste.
3. Let the soup cool down.
4. Mix the soup with the dill, until smooth. Serve with the crumbled feta, some springs of dill and 1 tbsp of olive oil.

3

A flowery break

Fleurs-09

Today I’m sharing with you some recent pictures, a beautiful bouquet of roses from my the garden of my friend’s auntie. The flowers were gorgeous, all different, some so tight they looked like peonies, others with a divine smell, with striped petals, or with the prettiest pink color. It would have been a shame not to photography them. I also realised that I’m quite found of taking pictures of flowers. It’s a delicate process because I want to capture every nuance of a bouquet, it’s a very different approach from food photography I think. I also tend to take way too many pictures and I’m very indecisive in choosing the one to keep (I’d love to keep them all !). I hope you will enjoy those flowers as much as I did.
A quick note to say that the blog is going on holiday mode until the end of the month ! I will be back in August with fresh summer recipes :)

Fleurs-08

Fleurs-04Fleurs-10

Fleurs-07

Fleurs-01Fleurs-05
Fleurs-03

Fleurs-11Fleurs-06

Fleurs-02

3

Breakfast after the rain : Greek Yoghurt with berries and toasted seeds

JardinPluie-01

You surely know this already if you’ve been reading this blog, but the weather this pas few weeks has been incertain to say the least. The weekends have been punctuated with bright rays of sunshine followed by floodlike rain. We have spent a lot of time in Biscarrosse, making the most of it. One of my favorite things to do during the warmer months is to take my breakfast outside, in the garden. It’s really soothing and allows me to start the day on a peaceful note.

Those pictures were taken after a shower, when the sun was just starting to come out and casted its beautiful light on the greens, heavy with rain.
The sky was still dark and grey, but a few rays of light were creating this incredible lighting. I was really smitten by it and took advantage of it to shoot my breakfast. Nothing fancy really, but I thought it could give you some ideas for your morning rituals.

Something that has been increasingly important for me is the aesthetics of the food I eat : I’m more enthusiastic if what I eat is pretty. I like starting my day on a beautiful note, a nice bowl, that forces me to take my time and enjoy.
There are many lovely recipes on the internet, and it is somewhat “trendy” to make pretty breakfasts : miam-aux-fruits, smoothie bowls, açai bowls, overnight oats, fruit parfaits, … and the list goes on.
My version is simpler but also delicious : fresh fruits, greek yogurt, toasted seeds (here sunflower), flax seed oil and some oats (if I want a more substantial meal).

JardinPluie-12
JardinPluie-11
JardinPluie-02JardinPluie-07

JardinPluie-10
JardinPluie-08
JardinPluie-03

JardinPluie-05JardinPluie-09

JardinPluie-06

JardinPluie-04

Greek Yoghurt with berries and toasted seeds

For 1 bowl

125g (4.4 oz) of greek yoghurt
Fresh fruits : raspberries, strawberries, blueberries (in winter : apples, kiwis, grappes, persimmons, pears)
Toastes seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, sesame) ou nuts (hazelnuts, pecans)
1 tsp of flax seed oil

1

Sagres et la Côte Vicentine : Ceviche à l’avocat, coriandre et au gingembre

DSCF8065

Première partie de notre voyage au Portugal, avec l’Algarve. Cette région du Sud du Portugal est très réputée pour ses belles plages mais aussi évidemment très prisée des touristes en période estivale. En préparant notre voyage, nous avons recueilli des avis mitigés : on nous prédisait des hordes de touristes dans des stations balnéaires bétonnées et remplies de mauvais restaurants. Autant vous dire que cela nous a un peu refroidis. On a creusé un peu et vite vu quelles étaient les villes à éviter, et on a jeté notre dévolu sur le village de Sagrès à la pointe ouest de l’Algarve. Les guides décrivaient Sagrès comme le paradis des surfeurs avec une atmosphère de bout du monde. Vendu !

Arrivés là bas, le dépaysement a été total. Le village de Sagrès est très charmeur, c’est assez petit, avec un port, un marché où acheter des produits frais, quelques cafés traditionnels où les papys du coin se retrouvent. Mais aussi de jolis bars de surfeurs et restaurants de grillades et poissons au bord de l’eau. Il y a même quelques lieux assez branchés sans être m’-as-tu-vu.

Ce fut un camp de base parfait pour explorer la région qui offre de magnifiques paysages à 20 km à la ronde. Au sud, des plages bordées de falaises ocre, recouvertes de plantes grasses, une eau calme et limpide, quelques familles sur la plage.

A l’ouest, de longues plages de sable entourées de falaises noires ou de dunes plantées d’oyats (comme dans les Landes !) avec de très belles vagues, nous en avons ainsi profité pour surfer (vous ne le savez peut être pas, mais j’ai fait beaucoup de surf dans mon adolescence et m’y suis remise il y a 2 ans). Sur toutes les plages, il y a de petits restaurants/snack où vous pouvez prendre un verre ou déjeuner. L’atmosphère y est très détendue, cette côte est plutôt fréquentée par des surfeurs et des familles qui se déplacent en van et font du camping sauvage.

Enfin à l’intérieur des terres que nous avons exploré un jour de grand vent et de bruine, vous trouverez des villages typiques aux maisons blanches et à l’église ancienne, une nature de plus en plus verte, et des petites routes qui serpentent. Nous sommes allés dans le village de Monchique, situé dans la montagne et qui est le point de départ de randonnées dans la Sierra de Monchique. Une très belle balade nous a menés à la découverte du Mont Picata, en plein soleil, mais à travers une forêt d’eucalyptus, de chênes lièges et d’arbousiers. En haut, le panorama sur la région est splendide.

Vous l’aurez compris, j’ai été subjuguée par cette région, sa belle nature et la diversité de ses paysages. Nous avons passé une semaine à nous laisser porter par nos envies, à aller explorer différentes plages en fonction du vent et de la houle, à partir nager dans les plages abritées comme on peut le faire dans la Méditerranée, à bouquiner à l’ombre des rochers, à déjeuner avec vue sur mer.

J’ai aimé me promener dans cette ville qui a bien cette atmosphère de bout du monde, souvent balayée par le vent et aux allures désuètes, aller au marché avec les locaux faire le plein de poisson frais et de légumes pour le barbecue du soir, prendre des apéros sur notre terrasse au coucher du soleil, aller mettre le feu aux bars du coin après diner.

Un des dîners que j’ai aimé faire là bas, c’est ce ceviche de poisson à l’avocat, gingembre et coriandre. C’est très frais, parfait pour être dégusté après une journée passée à la plage. On peut le préparer en rentrant, le paréo encore noué à la taille, les pieds plein de sable et les cheveux salés. Je le sers avec une portion de riz basmati mais vous pouvez également le déguster en entrée.

Praia do Beliche
DSCF7733

Sagrès
DSCF7789

DSCF7741DSCF7779

Praia do Cordoama
DSCF7752

Sagrès
DSCF7793DSCF7805
Monchique
DSCF7808

DSCF8058

DSCF7816
DSCF8049DSCF8051

DSCF7825
DSCF8059
DSCF7828DSCF7818

DSCF7844
Mt Picota
DSCF7850

DSCF8064

Praia da Mareta
DSCF7791---copie

DSCF7804DSCF7788

DSCF8067
Praia do Castelejo
DSCF7763

Ceviche à l’avocat, coriandre et gingembre

Pour 4 personnes

Ingrédients
600g de filet de daurade, bar ou cabillaud (comme ici)
2 avocats
1/2 concombre, épépiné et découpé en dés
1 petit oignon nouveau (blanc ou rouge), émincé finement
1 botte de coriandre
2c d’huile d’olive
Jus d’1 citron jaune
Jus et zeste d’1 citron vert
Morceau de gingembre de 4cm, râpé
2 pincées de piment d’Espelette
Sel

Instructions
1. Préparez la marinade : mélanger l’huile, le jus des deux citrons, le zeste du citron vert, le gingembre râpé, le piment et l’oignon
2. Ajouter les filets de poisson que vous aurez détaillés en dés. Mélanger intimement. Réserver au frais pendant au moins 1/2 heure.
3. Quelques minutes avant de servir: ajouter le concombre, l’avocat en quartiers et les feuilles de coriandre. Rectifier l’assaisonnement et attendre quelques minutes que les saveurs se lient.
4. Servir avec du riz pour un plat complet.

1

Soupe froide de courgettes à la feta et à l’aneth

SoupeCourgettes-02

Je suis rentrée de vacances dimanche, bronzée, reposée et émerveillée par le Portugal que nous avons visité. J’ai peine à croire que nous ne soyons partis que 10 jours, ce fut à la fois très (trop) rapide mais aussi tellement dense et riche que j’ai la sensation d’avoir fait une longue pause. Je vous prépare deux posts sur ce voyage (un sur Lisbonne et un sur l’Algarve) associés à des recettes qui m’ont inspirée là-bas (ce ne sera pas forcément des spécialités portugaises, mais plutôt ce que j’ai aimé cuisiner).

Aujourd’hui, une recette qui entre sans nulle doute dans la catégorie « rapide, facile, à faire tout de suite », tellement elle est pratique et parfaitement de saison. Les courgettes inondent les étals et c’est probablement un de mes légumes d’été préféré (bien que j’en consomme toute l’année, même si ce n’est pas très bien j’en conviens). Je trouve que c’est un légume très versatile : cru en salade, rôti avec du poisson, sauté dans une omelette, râpé dans un gratin. Vous l’aurez compris, j’en use et en abuse. Mais c’était une nouveauté de le consommer en soupe froide, je trouve que c’est très réussi et que cela offre une bonne alternative au traditionnel gazpacho.

J’ai étrangement le même problème avec la feta, c’est un des éléments de base de mon frigo, et lorsque je recherche de nouvelles idées pour des plats, elle trouve toujours le moyen d’apparaître, comme ici dans cette soupe. Pour ma défense, elle ajoute un délicieux côté crémeux et salé qui vient contrebalancer le goût très vert et ensoleillé de la courgette.

Pour finir, j’ai utilisé de l’aneth, que j’aime beaucoup et qui permet de varier du basilic et de la menthe, les meilleurs amis de l’été.

A la semaine prochaine pour les aventures lisboètes :)

SoupeCourgettes-05
SoupeCourgettes-07SoupeCourgettes-03

SoupeCourgettes-06

SoupeCourgettes-09

SoupeCourgettes-01

SoupeCourgettes-10

Soupe froide de courgettes à la feta et à l’aneth
Pour 2 personnes

Ingrédients

2 courgettes de taille moyenne (300g), détaillées en cube
1 oignon nouveau, emincé
30 cl de bouillon de légumes
50 g de feta, en petits morceau
2 cs d’huile d’olive
1/2 botte d’aneth
Sel et Poivre

Instructions

1. Dans une casserole, faire revenir l’oignon puis ajouter les courgettes. Laisser dore 5 minutes.
2. Ajouter le bouillon, attendre la reprise de l’ébullition et laisser mijoter pendant 15 minutes. Assaisonner.
3. Laisser refroidir.
4. Mixer la soupe en ajoutant l’aneth. Servir avec de la feta en morceaux, 1 filet d’huile, quelques feuilles d’aneth et un tour de moulin à poivre

3

Une pause fleurie

Fleurs-09

Aujourd’hui je vous livre quelques photos prises récemment, un beau bouquet de roses venant du jardin de la tante de mon ami. Ces fleurs étaient magnifiques, toutes différentes, certaines si serrées qu’elles ressemblaient à des pivoines, d’autres à l’odeur merveilleuse, aux pétales zébrées ou d’un rose candide. Il aurait été cruel de ne pas les immortaliser. Je réalise que j’aime beaucoup photographier les fleurs, c’est un exercice délicat car j’aime capturer toutes les nuances d’un bouquet, ce qui donne lieu à énormément de photos à trier. C’est d’autant plus difficile que je suis très mauvaise juge et aimerais les garder toutes. J’espère que vous apprécierez cette pause fleurie autant que j’ai eu de plaisir à photographier cette série.
Un peu mot également pour vous dire que le blog se met en mode vacances jusqu’à la fin du mois de juillet ! Rassurez vous, il y aura de jolies recettes en Août pour vous donner des idées pour vos repas estivaux :)

Fleurs-08

Fleurs-04Fleurs-10

Fleurs-07

Fleurs-01Fleurs-05
Fleurs-03

Fleurs-11Fleurs-06

Fleurs-02

3

Petit Déjeuner après la pluie : Yaourt aux fruits frais et graines toastées

JardinPluie-01
Vous le savez, les semaines précédentes, la météo fut très incertaine. Les week-ends étaient ponctués de beaux rayons de soleil, suivis par des pluies diluviennes. Nous avons passé beaucoup de temps à Biscarrosse, qui n’a pas échappé à la règle. Pourtant, un de mes plaisirs durant les beaux jours est de prendre mon petit déjeuner dehors, face au jardin. C’est très apaisant, et permet de commencer la journée en douceur.

Ces photos ont été prises après une belle averse, lorsque le soleil commençait à poindre son nez et illuminait les feuillages lourds de gouttes de sa belle lumière matinale. Le ciel était encore sombre et gris, mais quelques rayons venaient donner un éclairage si particulier.
Cette lumière m’a beaucoup séduite et j’en ai profité pour immortaliser mon petit déjeuner du jour. Rien de bien compliqué mais cela peut vous donner des idées pour bousculer les votres.
Une des choses à la quelle je suis très attachée, c’est l’esthétique, j’aime que ma journée débute sur une belle note, un joli bol, qui fait envie et me force à prendre mon temps.
Il y a beaucoup de jolies recettes sur internet, c’est effectivement très à la mode de se concocter de beaux petits déjeuners : miam aux fruits, smoothie bowls, açai bowl, porridge, parfait aux fruits, …. la liste est longue et très inspirante.
Ma version est ma foi plus simple mais tout aussi savoureuse : des fruits frais, du yaourt grec, 1 cs d’huile de lin, des graines toastées (ici tournesol) et parfois des flocons d’avoine pour plus de consistence.

JardinPluie-12
JardinPluie-11
JardinPluie-02JardinPluie-07

JardinPluie-10
JardinPluie-08
JardinPluie-03

JardinPluie-05JardinPluie-09

JardinPluie-06

JardinPluie-04

Yaourt aux fruits frais et graines toastées

Pour 1 bol

125g de yaourt grec
Fruits frais : fraises, myrtilles, framboises (en hiver : pommes, kiwis, raisins, kakis, poires)
Graines toastées (tournesol, courge, sésame) ou noix ( noisettes, noix de pécan, noix du brésil)
1 cs d’huile de lin

1