Sagres and the Vicentina Coast : Ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger

DSCF8065

First part of our trip to Portugal with the Algarve region. This region in the southern part of Portugal is renowned for its beautiful beaches but is also a destination of choice for tourists during the summer months. When we were researching where to stay during this trip, we got a lukewarm reception from our friends and family. They said that Algarve had the reputation to being very crowded and filled with seaside towns with high-rises and multilingual menus in restaurants. So that was very far from the small village atmosphere we were looking for. We kept looking and quickly crossed of our list some towns but in the middle of it we found Sagres at the western point of Algarve. The guidebooks were describing it as a surfer’s town with an end-of-the-world feel. We were sold !

When we got there, it totally lived up to our expectations. The town in itself is very charming, quite small with a port, a market to get fresh produce and fish, some traditional cafes where the local grandpas are meeting. But there are also some cool surfer bars and restaurant that serve grilled meat and fish on the beach. We even found some places with good design without being show-off.

It was the perfect base camp to explore the region which offers magnificent landscapes within 20 km. In the south, we found beaches surrounded by ocher cliffs, covered with perennial plants, calm and clear water and frequented by families.

In the west, never-ending beaches with black cliffs or sand dunes (like in the Landes region where I’m from) with unrelenting waves perfect for surfing (which we did ! you may not know but I surfed a lot when I was a teenager and I got back to it 2 years ago). On all the beaches, there are small cafes and snack where you can have lunch or just a drink, the atmosphere is very laid back as this coast is mostly frequented by surfers and families going camping in the nature.

Also, a day when the coast was windy with misty rain, we went farther inland to find small villages with white houses built around an old church, a greener nature, and meandering roads. We explored Monchique, a mountain town that is a starting point of hikes in the Serra do Monchique. We chose to hike in Mt Picota, through a forest of eucalyptus, cork oaks, strawberry trees. Up there, the view on the region is breathtaking.

Well, it is quite obvious how much I liked this region, its wild nature and the variety of its landscapes. We took it day by day, doing what we were in the mood for, exploring different beaches according to the direction of the wind of the swell, going swimming in sheltered beaches like you do in the Mediterranean, reading in the shades, having lunch with a view on the sea.

I loved wandering the streets of Sagres, going to the market with the locals stocking up on vegetables and fresh fish for the barbecue, taking l’apéritif in our deck at sunset, getting wild in the bars in town after dinner. This town definitely feels like the windswept end-of-world, slightly old-fashioned with a California vibe.

One of the dinners we made was this ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger. It’s really fresh and bright, perfect to end a sunny day spent at the beach. You can make it after the beach, with your pareo wrapped around your waist, you feed covered in sand and you hair still salty. I serve it with basmati rice but you can also eat it as an appetizer.

Praia do Beliche
DSCF7733

Sagrès
DSCF7789

DSCF7741DSCF7779

Praia do Cordoama
DSCF7752

Sagrès
DSCF7793DSCF7805
Monchique
DSCF7808

DSCF8058

DSCF7816
DSCF8049DSCF8051

DSCF7825
DSCF8059
DSCF7828DSCF7818

DSCF7844
Mt Picota
DSCF7850

DSCF8064

Praia da Mareta
DSCF7791---copie

DSCF7804DSCF7788

DSCF8067
Praia do Castelejo
DSCF7763

Ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger

Serves 4

Ingredients
600g (21oz) of whte fish filet like seabass, sea bream or cod
2 avocados, sliced
1/2 cucumber, seeded and diced
1 small onion (white or red), minced
1 bunch of cilantro
2 tbsp of olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
Juice and zest of 1 lime
4 cm (1.5 inch) piece of ginger, grated
2 pinches of Espelette pepper (or some mild pepper powder)
Salt

Instructions
1. Prepare the marinade : mix the oil, juice of the lemon and lime, lime zest, grated ginger, pepper and onion.
2. Dice the fish filets and add it to the marinade. Mix well. Put the marinade in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.
3. A few minutes before serving, add the cilantro, cucumber, avocado slices. Salt to taste.
4. Serve with rice for a full meal

1

2 thoughts on “Sagres and the Vicentina Coast : Ceviche with avocado, cilantro and ginger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Sagres et la Côte Vicentine : Ceviche à l’avocat, coriandre et au gingembre

DSCF8065

Première partie de notre voyage au Portugal, avec l’Algarve. Cette région du Sud du Portugal est très réputée pour ses belles plages mais aussi évidemment très prisée des touristes en période estivale. En préparant notre voyage, nous avons recueilli des avis mitigés : on nous prédisait des hordes de touristes dans des stations balnéaires bétonnées et remplies de mauvais restaurants. Autant vous dire que cela nous a un peu refroidis. On a creusé un peu et vite vu quelles étaient les villes à éviter, et on a jeté notre dévolu sur le village de Sagrès à la pointe ouest de l’Algarve. Les guides décrivaient Sagrès comme le paradis des surfeurs avec une atmosphère de bout du monde. Vendu !

Arrivés là bas, le dépaysement a été total. Le village de Sagrès est très charmeur, c’est assez petit, avec un port, un marché où acheter des produits frais, quelques cafés traditionnels où les papys du coin se retrouvent. Mais aussi de jolis bars de surfeurs et restaurants de grillades et poissons au bord de l’eau. Il y a même quelques lieux assez branchés sans être m’-as-tu-vu.

Ce fut un camp de base parfait pour explorer la région qui offre de magnifiques paysages à 20 km à la ronde. Au sud, des plages bordées de falaises ocre, recouvertes de plantes grasses, une eau calme et limpide, quelques familles sur la plage.

A l’ouest, de longues plages de sable entourées de falaises noires ou de dunes plantées d’oyats (comme dans les Landes !) avec de très belles vagues, nous en avons ainsi profité pour surfer (vous ne le savez peut être pas, mais j’ai fait beaucoup de surf dans mon adolescence et m’y suis remise il y a 2 ans). Sur toutes les plages, il y a de petits restaurants/snack où vous pouvez prendre un verre ou déjeuner. L’atmosphère y est très détendue, cette côte est plutôt fréquentée par des surfeurs et des familles qui se déplacent en van et font du camping sauvage.

Enfin à l’intérieur des terres que nous avons exploré un jour de grand vent et de bruine, vous trouverez des villages typiques aux maisons blanches et à l’église ancienne, une nature de plus en plus verte, et des petites routes qui serpentent. Nous sommes allés dans le village de Monchique, situé dans la montagne et qui est le point de départ de randonnées dans la Sierra de Monchique. Une très belle balade nous a menés à la découverte du Mont Picata, en plein soleil, mais à travers une forêt d’eucalyptus, de chênes lièges et d’arbousiers. En haut, le panorama sur la région est splendide.

Vous l’aurez compris, j’ai été subjuguée par cette région, sa belle nature et la diversité de ses paysages. Nous avons passé une semaine à nous laisser porter par nos envies, à aller explorer différentes plages en fonction du vent et de la houle, à partir nager dans les plages abritées comme on peut le faire dans la Méditerranée, à bouquiner à l’ombre des rochers, à déjeuner avec vue sur mer.

J’ai aimé me promener dans cette ville qui a bien cette atmosphère de bout du monde, souvent balayée par le vent et aux allures désuètes, aller au marché avec les locaux faire le plein de poisson frais et de légumes pour le barbecue du soir, prendre des apéros sur notre terrasse au coucher du soleil, aller mettre le feu aux bars du coin après diner.

Un des dîners que j’ai aimé faire là bas, c’est ce ceviche de poisson à l’avocat, gingembre et coriandre. C’est très frais, parfait pour être dégusté après une journée passée à la plage. On peut le préparer en rentrant, le paréo encore noué à la taille, les pieds plein de sable et les cheveux salés. Je le sers avec une portion de riz basmati mais vous pouvez également le déguster en entrée.

Praia do Beliche
DSCF7733

Sagrès
DSCF7789

DSCF7741DSCF7779

Praia do Cordoama
DSCF7752

Sagrès
DSCF7793DSCF7805
Monchique
DSCF7808

DSCF8058

DSCF7816
DSCF8049DSCF8051

DSCF7825
DSCF8059
DSCF7828DSCF7818

DSCF7844
Mt Picota
DSCF7850

DSCF8064

Praia da Mareta
DSCF7791---copie

DSCF7804DSCF7788

DSCF8067
Praia do Castelejo
DSCF7763

Ceviche à l’avocat, coriandre et gingembre

Pour 4 personnes

Ingrédients
600g de filet de daurade, bar ou cabillaud (comme ici)
2 avocats
1/2 concombre, épépiné et découpé en dés
1 petit oignon nouveau (blanc ou rouge), émincé finement
1 botte de coriandre
2c d’huile d’olive
Jus d’1 citron jaune
Jus et zeste d’1 citron vert
Morceau de gingembre de 4cm, râpé
2 pincées de piment d’Espelette
Sel

Instructions
1. Préparez la marinade : mélanger l’huile, le jus des deux citrons, le zeste du citron vert, le gingembre râpé, le piment et l’oignon
2. Ajouter les filets de poisson que vous aurez détaillés en dés. Mélanger intimement. Réserver au frais pendant au moins 1/2 heure.
3. Quelques minutes avant de servir: ajouter le concombre, l’avocat en quartiers et les feuilles de coriandre. Rectifier l’assaisonnement et attendre quelques minutes que les saveurs se lient.
4. Servir avec du riz pour un plat complet.

1

2 réflexions au sujet de « Sagres et la Côte Vicentine : Ceviche à l’avocat, coriandre et au gingembre »

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>