Marinated zucchini salad with black olives and mozzarella

SummerSalad-03

For once, we enjoyed our little garden in the city, that we put back together during springtime. We moved the table on the grass and had lunch in the middle of the garden, under our trees. It’s only the beginning, and the garden still looks a bit rough and lacks pretty flowers. Still, we have tomatoes growing furiously and they bring a little green to our flowerbeds. We’re looking forward to our first harvest. However, the lunch was perfect and we felt truly lucky to have a green corner in the city.
Also, I wanted to start a small serie of articles about my favorite summer salads : fresh and easy salads that I cook all summer long and are ideal to eat on the beach, on the grass or under the fig tree.

SummerSalad-01

Here is the first iteration, which is as good as it looks : zucchini ribbons, marinated in good olive oil and lemon juice, creamy mozzarella, black olives that taste like Italy and fresh herbs from the garden (or the corner shop !). Of course, the key is to have good quality ingredients, they are the heart of this recipe.
During the summer months, I’m a fan of those marinated zucchinis, yellow or green, they’re easy to make with a mandolin or just a vegetable peeler.
This salad is really versatile, you can add a cereal to make it more consistant (bulgur or couscous), or other vegetables to make it more diverse (slices of fennel or tomatoes), change the herbs to your liking (basil, mint, rosemary, cilantro).

SummerSalad-02
SummerSalad-04

Marinated zucchini salad with black olives and mozzarella

For 4 people

Ingredients
4 small yellow or green zucchinis
250g of mozzarella di buffalla
2 tbsp of olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
16 kalamata olives, pitted and chopped
Basil and origano leaves to your liking (or other herbs), finely chopped
Salt and pepper

Instructions
1. Cut the zucchinis in ribbons with a mandolin or a vegetable peeler. Put them in a bowl and add the lemon juice, olive oil , salt and pepper. Stir well. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
2. Cut the mozzarella in small pieces and add them to the salad along with the chopped olives and herbs.
3. Stir well and serve !

PS : This recipe also published on Food52

6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Salade de courgettes marinées, olives et mozzarella

SummerSalad-03

Pour une fois on a profité de notre petit jardin de ville, que nous avons remis en état au cours de printemps. Nous avons poussé la table pour la mettre dans l’herbe et déjeuner au milieu de jardin, à l’ombre des arbres. C’est le début, il est encore un peu déplumé et manque de jolis massifs fleuris mais heureusement les plants de tomates poussent à foison et apportent de la verdure aux plates bandes. Vivement la première récolte.Mais c’était un déjeuner parfait où on savoure sa chance d’avoir un peu de vert en ville.
Et puis j’avais envie de commencer une petite série de salades d’été, fraiches et faciles à faire pour partager avec vous mes quelques recettes qui tournent en boucle mais sont toujours bienvenues pour déjeuner dans l’herbe, sur la plage ou sous le figuier.

SummerSalad-01

Voici donc la première aussi jolie que bonne : des rubans de courgettes à faire mariner dans de la bonne huile et du jus de citron, de la mozza bien crémeuse, des olives noires qui ont goût d’Italie et des herbes fraiches du jardin (ou du maraîcher du coin de la rue !). Bien sur tout est dans la qualité des ingrédients !
En été, je suis très adepte des courgettes marinées, jaunes ou vertes, à choisir en petit format si possible et à détailler à la mandoline ou à l’épluche légume.
Cette salade est une bonne base et se plie à mille modifications : vous pouvez ajouter une graine (de la semoule, du boulgour) pour la rendre plus consistante, d’autres légumes pour varier les goûts (tranches de fenouil, rondelles de tomates), changer les herbes à votre convenance (menthe, basilic, romarin, coriandre).

SummerSalad-02
SummerSalad-04

Salade de courgettes marinées, olives et mozzarella

Pour 4 personnes

Ingrédients
4 petites courgettes vertes ou jaunes
2 boules de mozzarella di buffalla soit 250g
2 cs d’huile d’olive
Le jus d’1 citron
16 olives kalamata, dénoyautées et hachées finement
Feuilles de basilic & origan à votre convenance (ou autres herbes de votre choix), ciselées
Sel et poivre

Instructions
1. Découpez les courgettes en fins rubans à l’aide d’une mandoline ou d’un épluche légume. Les mettre dans un plat, ajoutez le jus de citron, l’huile d’olive, salez et poivres à votre convenance. laissez mariner au frais 30 minutes minimum
2. Découpez la mozzarella en morceaux et ajoutez la à la salade ainsi que les olives hachées et les herbes ciselées.
3. Mélangez et servez !

PS : Retrouvez cette recette sur Food52

5

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>